Resources

University Resources and Local Experts

We would like to express our appreciation to the following people who have played a substantial role in developing the western canola industry. Each of them has graciously consented to be listed on this page and they welcome your questions.

Jack Brown

University of Idaho – Professor, Plant Breeder, Geneticist

Heads up Brassica breeding program at University of Idaho. Bred and released Amanda winter canola as well as other high performing canola and mustard varieties.

jbrown@uidaho.edu
(208) 885-7078
Bio
Brassica Breeding Program

Jim Davis

University of Idaho – Research Support Scientist Canola and Mustard

Brassica breeding program at University of Idaho. Conducts Pacific Northwest variety trials and other research activities. Heads up laboratory efforts, including oil content analysis.
Canola and Mustard Breeding and Genetics Update (PDF)

jdavis@uidaho.edu
(208) 885-4266
Bio

Don Wysocki

Oregon State University – Associate Professor, Extension Soil Scientist

Conducts variety trials and agronomic research in northern Oregon winter canola region. Agronomic focus on planting and fertility timing as well as cultural practices in low-rainfall, summer-fallow regime.

dwysocki@oregonstate.edu
(541) 278-4396
Bio

Karen Sowers

WSU Extension and Outreach Specialist – Oilseeds

Resource for oilseed production in Washington. Focus on grower and industry outreach. Coordinates oilseed conferences and oilseed field days.

ksowers@wsu.edu
(509) 396-5936
Bio

Frank Young

Agricultural Research Service – Research Agronomist and Cropping Systems Specialist

Conducts canola research in Central Washington winter canola region. Focus on planting techniques, fertility timing, weed management and cultural practices in low-rainfall, summer-fallow regime.

frank.young@ars.usda.gov
(509) 335-4196
Bio

Dennis Roe

Washington State University – Extension Specialist

Focus on grower outreach, oilseed conferences and field days.

rdroe@wsu.edu
(509) 335-3491
Bio

Dale Whaley

Washington State University – Extension Educator, Agronomy; Douglas County

Author and presenter of Insect Pests of Canola (PDF). Focus on grower outreach and education.

dwhaley@wsu.edu
(509) 745-8531
Bio

Kurt Schroeder

University of Idaho – Cropping Systems Agronomist

Author and presenter of Canola Diseases at 2012 Oilseed Conference.

kschroeder@uidaho.edu
(208) 885-5020
Bio

Curtis Hennings

Spectrum Crop Development, Ritzville, WA

Pioneer in raising winter canola on low-rainfall, dryland conditions. Sells seed of varieties adapted to western conditions.

cefarms@ritzville.com
(509) 659-1757
Bio

Bob Stougaard

Northwestern Agricultural Research Center (Bozeman), Montana State University – Superintendent

Montana research station conducting variety trials and agronomic research on canola.

rns@montana.edu
(406) 755-4303
Montana Agricultural Research Center

Brooke Bohannon

Montana State University, Northwestern Agricultural Research Center, Kalispell, MT – Research Associate

Heads up the Montana State-wide Canola Variety Trials and assists in other research and outreach activities.

Brooke.bohannon@montana.edu
(406) 755-4303
Montana Agricultural Research Center

Perry Miller

Montana State University – Professor of Sustainable Cropping Systems

Development of dryland management pricnciples for diversified cropping systems in the Northern Plains. Conducts research on winter canola in Montana.

pmiller@montana.edu
(406) 994-5421
Bio